Tag: annie oakley

Last Woman Standing

One of the most popular attractions at the Scholastic Clay Target Program National Championships each year is the elimination style competition called Last Competitor Standing – often called “Annie Oakley”.

This elimination-style shoulder to shoulder competition is so popular the SCTP offers it on Wednesday and Friday during the National event.

For the last two years in a row, SCTP has found a modern day Annie Oakley at Wednesday nights’ competition in a young lady named Reanna Frauens from Corral Springs, Florida. Frauens, the 2018 champion bested nearly 400 other competitors on Wednesday to regain her crown this year.

Wednesday Night’s Last Competitor Standing Champion Reanna Frauens

The Cardinal Shooting Center trap fields were lined up with shooters of all ages and sizes to compete for some great prizes and the ultimate title of last man or lady standing. The elimination process continued until only one man and one lady shooter remained.

In a head to head battle of the sexes competition, 1st Place Ladies Division Champion, Frauens, bested Men’s Division Champions, Gavin Wright and was awarded a case of Winchester ammunition and gift certificate for a set of custom earplugs.

Prizes were also awarded to the Top 8 Finishers in the Men’s and Ladies Division and the Top 2 Finishers in the College Division.

  • 1st Reanna Frauens FL Quail Creek SKB IS300 – Belt Buckle
  • 2nd Madeline Corbin WI Sauk County Youth Shamrock Leather Shooting Bag
  • 3rd Gianna Patti PA Mason Dixon Claybusters RE Ranger Phantom Shooting Glasses
  • 4th Ava Downs WI Muskego Warriors Shamrock Leather Shell Holder – 2 case Ammo
  • 5th Raylee Bishop IA Ankeny Centenial Shamrock Leather Shell Holder – 2 case Ammo
  • 6th Olivia Krauss MI Fudd Dusters 2 – Case Winchester Ammo
  • 7th Makayla Scott NC Carolina Clays 2 – Case Winchester Ammo
  • 8th Amber Hadley MI Lowell Red Arrows 1 – Case Winchester Ammo
  • 1st Gavin Wright WI Beaver Dam SKB IS300 – Belt Buckle
  • 2nd Triston Schroder MI Fudd Dusters Shamrock Leather Shooting Bag
  • 3rd Cody Miller WI Central Falcons RE Ranger Phantom Shooting Glasses
  • 4th Ricky Fabry WI Muskego Warriors Shamrock Leather Shell Holder – 2 case Ammo
  • 5th Kolby Pinkerton WI Muskego Warriors Shamrock Leather Shell Holder – 2 case Ammo
  • 6th Levi Crook GA Central Georgia Elite Shooters 2 – Case Winchester Ammo
  • 7th Kyren Kain MI Flat River Conservation Club 2 – Case Winchester Ammo
  • 8th Austin Rechlin WI Jefferson Sportsmans Club 1 – Case Winchester Ammo
  • 1st Eric Long IA Shamrock Leather Shooting Bag
  • 2nd Justin Miklaszewski WI 2 – Case of Winchester Ammunition
  • 3rd Aimee Spiering WI 1 – Case of Winchester Ammunition

Congratulations to all the Top Finishers in each division and good luck to all those who compete in Friday evening’s Last Competitor Standing competition!

Photo Credit Hayley Wilson Photography

Over 1,000 SCTP Athletes Compete In Last Competitor Standing

One of the highlights of Nationals week for SCTP athletes is the opportunity to compete in a massive Last Competitor Standing (i.e. “Annie Oakley”) event that gives them the opportunity to win guns, gear, and even a scholarship. In this miss-and-out fun competition, up to 30 athletes per trap field try to eliminate each other by capitalizing on the previous competitor’s misses. Over 500 athletes competed each evening.

The event has two components on each of two nights: a competition for anyone who wishes to compete, with men’s and ladies winners taking home guns and other prizes, followed by a competition just for 2017 graduating seniors who competed for $1,000 scholarships presented by the NRA.

Last Competitor Standing – Wednesday

Victoria Hendrix AZ Ben Avery
Sarah Schwacker WI Waterford Wolverines
Molly Olson WI Flyway Clay Slayers
Jessica Strasser WI Waterford Wolverines
Kiera Wood WI Hudson Raiders
Mikaela Leach WI Ozaukee Scholastic Shooting
Morgan Clark WI Flyway Clay Slayers
Zoe Goodwin KY Northern Kentucky Top Guns

Austin Jacob OH Greene County F&G
Andrew Troje IA North Scott Trap Team
Riley Hasler WI Waterford Wolverines
Thomas Keeshan IA North Scott Trap Team
Blake Conrad MN Lakers Trap Team
Eyan Marx WI Flyway Clayslayers
Aaron Copelan GA Lake Oconee Shotgun Team
Jordan Persinger WI Hudson Raiders

Tyler Bong WI Flyway Clayslayers
Brennan Kamer KY Northern Kentucky STC

Ladies NRA $1,000 Scholarship
Sarah Villarreal NE Marian High School

Mens NRA $1,000 Scholarship
Austin Jacob OH Greene County F&G

Last Competitor Standing – Friday
Erin Lautzenheiser OH North Lawrence Claybusters
Harley Graves TN T-County Claybusters
Lauren Hartwein MO Gateway Claybusters
Chloe Uhlenhake WI BHS Demons
Sabrina Peterson IL St. Charles Shot Crew
Grace Marlen MO Team Henges
Morgan Clark WI Flyway Clayslayers
Kaylinn Wilken WI BHS Demons

Tyler Regner WI BHS Demons
Brian Baca CO Rocky Mountain Claybusters
Zachary Hanson WI Central Falcons
William Browning IA North Lawrence Claybusters
Josh Muellenbach WI BHS Demons
Hunter Block IA North Scott Trap Team
Jack Schoepke WI BHS Demons
Thomas Keeshan IA North Scott Trap Team

Danielle Greene PA Evans City
Taya Bower MI Straight Shooters

Ladies NRA $1,000 Scholarship
Chloe Sterner PA Mason Dixon Claybusters

Mens NRA $1,000 Scholarship
Hunter Conrad WI Central Falcons

© 2020 - Scholastic Shooting Sports Foundation. All Rights Reserved. Website by Venomous Design