SCTP College Nationals Returns To Ohio

Taking place at the Cardinal Shooting Center in Marengo Ohio, the Scholastic Clay Target Program (SCTP) conducted its College National Championship with resounding success. Home to the SCTP National events through the year 2029, the Cardinal Shooting Center facilitated the SCTP Collegiate events of Trap, Skeet, Sporting Clays, Bunker Trap, International Skeet, and 5 Stand. Historically held in October, the event was moved to March to accommodate fall travel restrictions.

New for the event, high school athletes were invited to join, allowing them to compete in a separate high school competition. Intended as a useful opportunity for coaches interested in meeting the next class of shooters, the integration of networking was a welcomed expansion of College Nationals. Additionally, this gave rising athletes an opportunity to learn from college-level athletes and become familiar with college shooting programs throughout the nation.

-In Trap Singles, Division II Fort Hays State University took the title, while Lindenwood University did the same in Division I.

-Using the newly constructed international venue at the Cardinal Center, the Bunker Trap event saw Division III Hillsdale College take gold and Hawkeye Community College take 1st place Division IV in the International Skeet events.

-Division I Bethel University took the overall gold in the Skeet event by one target, narrowly beating out Lindenwood University.

-Another close win in the Sporting Clays event was clenched by Division II Emmanuel College, with a one-target lead ahead of Division II foe, Fort Hays State University.

-Division I Martin Methodist enjoyed a large lead in the 5 Stand event, taking home gold.

The High Overall team awards were determined by 200 target Trap, 200 target Skeet and 200 target Sporting Clays:

Fort Hays State University came home with the HOA title in Division II, shooting a 2,860, followed by a Gold for Division I Lindenwood University with a 2,846, closely followed by Martin Methodist College shooting a team total of 2,843 for Runner-Up in Division I.

High Overall Lady belonged to Christina Byrd (Lindenwood University), shooting a 548 to win the title, followed by Katie Peterson’s 544 (Fort Hays State University), and Ida Brown (Hillsdale College) taking 3rd with a 535.

The High Overall Men’s title was a very close race between three teammates of Fort Hays State University. Cordell Waggoner shot a 573 to win the title, followed by Riley Ross with a 572, and Henry McVeigh’s 571 taking 3rd.

© 2020 - Scholastic Shooting Sports Foundation. All Rights Reserved. Website by Venomous Design