SCTP Shooters Compete in International Disciplines

SCTP shooters got a taste of Olympic-style shooting last week, competing in the 2014 SCTP National Team Championships for International Disciplines at the International Shooting Park near Colorado Springs, CO.

This year’s competitor numbers doubled last year’s totals. Bunker trap had 90 registrations, with 44 for International Skeet and 55 for International Double Trap.

In addition to squad and individual awards for the three disciplines, four athletes earned positions on the USA National Junior Team as a result of their scores:

National Junior Team
L-R: Nic Moschetti, Hank Garvey, Myles Walker, and Roe Reynolds. (Perry Hintz Photo)

  • Roe Reynolds – Bunker Trap
  • Myles Walker – Bunker Trap
  • Nic Moschetti – International Skeet
  • Hank Garvey – International Double Trap

Almost 200 athletes, coaches, and family members attended the awards banquet at the Cheyenne Mountain Resort, where shooters received medals and awards for their accomplishments. The four athletes winning spots on the USA National Junior Team were presented blue USA Shooting jackets by Todd Graves, former Olympian and current USA Shooting National Shotgun Coach.

Also attending the banquet and recognizing the shooters were Mike Theimer, USA Shooting Director of Youth Shooting; Lloyd Woodhouse, former Olympian and legendary USA National Coach; Dave Johnson, USA Shooting Director of Operations; and USA Shooting members Nick Boerboon and Morgan Craft.

See Photos from National Championships for International Disciplines

Gold Medal winners include:

International Skeet

Squad – OpenTampa Bay Clays (FL)
Squad – SeniorDes Moines Clay Crushers (IA)
Individual Men’s CollegiateClayton MoniotKansas City Crushers (KS)
Individual Boys SeniorNic MoschettiTSSC Bears (CO)
Individual Boys IntermediateDillon RomeroCody Clay Crushers (WY)
Individual Girls SeniorMolly SheehanMinute Man Sharpshooters (MA)

International Trap Doubles

Squad – OpenArizona Outdoor Sports (AZ)
Squad – SeniorMinute Man Sharpshooters (MA)
Individual Men’s CollegiateJordan HintzBHS Demons (WI)
Individual Boys SeniorHank GarveyMinute Man Sharpshooters (MA)
Individual Boys IntermediateSam LamaCenterburg Youth SS (OH)
Individual Girls SeniorMadelynn BernauWaterford H.S. Trap Team (WI)

Bunker Trap

Squad – OpenU.S. Clay Target Academy (FL)
Squad – SeniorCTC-Tennessee Blue (TN)
Individual Men’s CollegiateMyles WalkerBHS Demons (WI)
Individual Boys SeniorRoe ReynoldsCentral Ark. Shotgun Team (AR)
Individual Boys IntermediateGabriel ShandlesU.S. Clay Target Academy (FL)
Individual Boys RookieJoshua VegaU.S. Clay Target Academy (FL)
Individual Girls SeniorGrace HambuchenCentral Ark. Shotgun Team (AR)
Individual Girls IntermediateLogan SmithU.S. Clay Target Academy (FL)

See full scores and results.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2020 - Scholastic Shooting Sports Foundation. All Rights Reserved. Website by Venomous Design